Posted by: viewfromacouch | April 12, 2010

Introductions are in order.

So here we are. Here I am, anyway. Awful presumptuous to assume anyone would be reading this when I’m just starting out. So who am I and what exactly is this thing? I am a hockey nerd. I am a film buff. I am a music junkie. I am an avid gamer. And contrary to what this disjointed list might have you believe, I like to think of myself as a writer.

Last week I saw Hot Tub Time Machine in theatres — an enjoyable film which I liked very much — and it got me to thinking that it was the first movie I’d seen in theatres in 2010. I couldn’t tell if that spoke more to my lack of income, or if there was just nothing to see. A few movies I was interested in had mid-February release dates. As a Vancouverite, I think it should be obvious why I didn’t have time to go see them. I wasn’t about to waste a second of the Olympics couped up in the theatre.

As I thought of how far removed I was from my last theatrical experience, I began to realize I was even more far removed from the last time I wrote a film essay. When a movie moves me, there are few things I find more satisfying than writing about it; deconstructing it to find why it works where others fail. Often times these reasons say more about me than they do the film in question. And that’s what writing really is, isn’t it? An exploratory tool. A method of self-discovery. I could use a little self-exploration right now.

And as I prepare to step out of Vancouver for the summer and live on my own in a town where I know just about no one, I’ve come to accept the fact that writing will get me through the hard days, and the lonely nights. Not that Kelowna is going to suck, I’m really looking forward to it. I just know there will be tough days, and it’ll be nice having this blog to spill into.

So it is with all these things in mind that I have come to WordPress. As I train to become a member of the media, earning a living writing my own material, I need to get back into the swing of writing regularly — exercising my vocabulary and stretching my limits as a wordsmith. While I’d like to say what exactly this blog will be made up of, a strict definition would just be needlessly limiting. I will no doubt write mostly about my primary interests (movies and hockey), but I’m sure a little bit of everything will pop here from time to time, including whatever’s going on in my personal life.

I’d like to think I will eventually build up something of a reader-base, but for now I’m content to write for myself. With the NHL playoffs just around the corner, and the summer movie season not far behind, it seemed like now would be the perfect time to start this.

So this is it. Forgive the plain-jane layout, I just moved in. It’ll take a few days to unpack my things. In the meantime, make yourself comfortable. Put on some popcorn. And above all…

Welcome to View From A Couch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

